St. James way Section 5 Haldensee - Bad Hindelang

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details


Duration: 5,5 hours
Length: 19,818 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 284 m
Altitude difference (downhill): 592 m

Lowest point: 817 m
Highest point: 1201 m
Difficulty: medium
Panoramic view: Dreamtour
Download GPS data

Short description:
The wide Tannheimer Tal between steep rock teeth and mountain ridges forms the Tyrolean final stage. At Oberjoch the German part begins with a spectacular descent to Bad Hindelang, one of the most attractive spa and holiday communities in the Allgäu.



Technique: ***



Quality of experience: ******



Recommended season:

  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September



Properties:

  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights

Description:

The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St James


This Alpine Route of St. James, which is both scenically and culturally very attractive, leads off the main roads over three Alpine passes, namely the Fernpass, the old Gaichtpass and the Jochpass. It crosses some of the most attractive hiking and holiday regions of Tyrol and southern Upper Allgäu on ancient Roman, trade and pilgrim paths.


The pilgrims to St. James can undoubtedly look forward to a particularly impressive route here. All the more so, as it mostly leads through rural, tranquil mountain regions, where people have been deeply influenced by faith and fear of the forces of nature for centuries. These regions are therefore particularly rich in churches and chapels with numerous art-historical gems, often from very different eras. In combination with the magnificent panoramic views, the constantly changing perspectives and the meditative, but now and then strenuous hiking in wind and weather through these alpine natural landscapes, this "camino" becomes an unforgettable path that demands all the senses, rich in intense experiences, encounters, experiential and perhaps also new insights about oneself.


Integration into the Jakobwegenetz of Austria and Germany


The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St. James connects in Stams to the German-Austrian Way of St. James from Munich along the Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache and Inn rivers, as well as to the two Austrian ways of St. James which unite in Innsbruck: the route from Lofer/Salzburg to Innsbruck and the route from Lienz to Innsbruck. From Innsbruck, this bundled stream of St. James' Way leads on via Stams to the Arlberg or even from Stams on the Tyrol-Allgaeu route.


Pilgrim's stamp and pilgrim's identity card


In the chapels of St. James and in the churches mentioned in the text there are stamped places along the St. James' Way. These pilgrim's stamps are nice memories in your own pilgrim's diary. In the intrnat. recognised pilgrim's identity card they serve as proof of the route completed. As an official document, the pilgrim's identity card also enables the pilgrim to stay overnight in special pilgrim accommodation, of which there are still few on this route. It can be obtained from the St. James pilgrim associations for a processing fee.



Directions:
From the chapel of St. James keeping right through meadows to the parish church of St. Wendelin in Grän (1138 m), consecrated in 1793 for the veneration of the shepherd and cattle patron Wendelin. On a small road rich in chapels and wayside shrines you continue to Innergschwend with the St. Martin's Chapel (mentioned in 1494) and to Berg with the magnificently stuccoed Sebastian's Chapel (1653). A visit to Tannheim is a must because of the baroque St. Nikolaus Church, the second largest country parish church in the diocese of Innsbruck, and because of the pretty village. St. Nicholas surprises with impressive altars and ceiling frescos as well as with the valuable, over 450 year old complete ringing of the famous Innsbruck bell foundry Löffler. The best way there and back is from Berg on a quiet little road to the underpass at the car park at the entrance to Tannheim. Then on the enchanting panoramic path via Untergschwend to the plague chapel St. Leonhard in Kienzen, to Zöblen, Fricken and Kappl. Crossing the Vilsbrücke bridge you reach the Schattwald department store Lutz, on the main road to Oberjoch. Behind it, a small road on the right of the pass road leads in the direction of Steig, Unterjoch/Krummenbach. Keep left on this road to the fork in the road with the crossroads and bench in front of a courtyard. Follow the signs "Jakobsweg/Alte Salzstraße" and a short steep ascent to the Bundesstraße 308, which you cross to the hiking trail to Oberjoch (1145 m), the highest district of Bad Hindelang. Passing the old border station (with altestelle) above, the trail leads directly to Oberjoch am Jochpass. On the way there is a large memorial stone at a rest area, which reminds of the Roman road (scientifically disproved), the old salt road and the Way of St. James. Below the Catholic parish church Heilig Geist (1968/69), the chapel St. Jakob (stamped) (1732) stands on the pass road, with a stamp and beautiful ceiling fresco of pilgrims at the fountain. From the information point at the Joch, the Jakobsweg leads first in the direction of the Untere Ochsenalpe, then branches off to the right into the forest to the Wildbachtobel (torrent ravine) and descends steeply through the meadows with a wonderful view. On the Old Joch Pass Trail you reach the first houses of Bad Oberdorf, from where, after crossing the main road, you come directly to the branch church of Bad Oberdorf, St. Jodokus. The church, built in 1938, is widely known for its art treasures, such as the Palmesel (around 1470), the picture of the Virgin Mary by Hans Holbein the Elder and the altar by Jörg Lederer.

Tip:
Felixé Mina's house, local history museum, Vilsalpsee in Tannheim. Parish church St. Wolfgang (stamp place) in Schattwald. Moor bath and inn of the Alpe Kematsried in Oberjoch. Upper mill in Bad Oberdorf.

Safety guidelines:
It should be noted that there is an increased risk of accidents and injuries on pilgrim paths. Despite careful route planning, a basic risk always remains. Tour preparation through endurance sports, appropriate technical training and mental preparation reduces the risk of accidents and injuries. But please never forget that the weather in the mountains can change very quickly.

Equipment:
The personal pilgrim's equipment must be safe and serviceable and must meet the relevant technical standards. The rucksack should not exceed the weight of 15 kg. Every pilgrim is recommended to inform and prepare himself in detail in technical literature or on the Internet

Starting point: Haldensee
Destination: Bad Oberdorf
Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
No vignettes on the A7 Kempten-Reutte until the Oy- Mittelberg exit. On B310 to Oberjoch and on B308 into the Tannheimer Tal. Or A980 to exit Waltenhofen and on B19 to Sonthofen. Further on B308 via Bad Hindelang and Oberjoch. From direction Fernpass/Reutte the fastest way is on A7 to exit Oy-Mittelberg, on B310 to Oberjoch, on B308 into the Tannheimer Tal.

Public Transit
Arrival via the easily accessible Sonthofen railway station. Further by bus via Bad Hindelang and Oberjoch into the Tannheimer Tal. Further arrival in summer by train and bus via the stations of the extra-city railway Kempten-Reutte: From the railway station Pfronten-Ried 16 km to Grän as well as from the railway station Reutte 24 km through the Lechtal via the Gaichtpass. Bus timetables and travel tips at: www.vvt.at (Tyrol), www.rva.de (Füssen/Pfronten and Oberstdorf area) and www.tannheimertal.com .

Parking
In Grän at the community center - with costs

Most economical season:
  • Summer
  • Autumn
St. James way Section 5 Haldensee - Bad Hindelang
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Accommodations
Arrival
Departure:

Jakobsweg Etappe 5 Haldensee - Bad Hindelang

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Startort: 6673 Grän
Zielort: 6677 Schattwald

Dauer: 5,5 Stunden
Länge: 19,818 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 284 m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 592 m

Niedrigster Punkt: 817 m
Höchster Punkt: 1201 m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Panorama: Traumtour
GPS Daten downloaden

Kurzbeschreibung:

Das weite Tannheimer Tal zwischen steilen Felszähnen und Bergkämmen bildet die Tiroler Schlussetappe. Bei Oberjoch beginnt der deutsche Teil mit einem spektakulären Abstieg nach Bad Hindelang, eine der attraktivsten Kur- und Urlaubsgemeinden im Allgäu.



Technik: ***



Erlebniswert: ******



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September



Eigenschaften:

  • Streckentour
  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights

Beschreibung:

Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu


Diese sowohl landschaftlich als auch kulturell sehr attraktive alpine Jakobsweg-Route führt abseits der großen Straßen über drei Alpenpässe, nämlich über den Fernpass, den alten Gaichtpass und den Jochpass. Dabei durchquert sie einige der attraktivsten Wander- und Urlaubsgebiete Tirols und des südlichen Oberallgäus auf uralten Römer-, Handels- und Pilgerwegen.


Die Jakobs-Pilger dürfen sich hier zweifellos auf eine besonders beeindruckende Route freuen. Umso mehr, da diese meist durch ländlich-beschauliche Bergregionen führt, in denen die Menschen jahrhundertelang vom Glauben und der Furcht vor den Naturgewalten tief geprägt wurden. Daher sind diese Regionen besonder reich an Kirchen und Kapellen mit zahlreichen kunsthistorischen Kleinoden, oft aus ganz verschiedenen Epochen. In Verbindung mit den großartigen Panoramablicken, den ständig wechselnden Perspektiven und dem meditativen, hin und wieder doch anstrengenden Wandern bei Wind und Wetter durch diese alpinen Naturlandschaften wird dieser "camino" zu einem alle Sinne beanspruchenden, unvergesslichen Weg, reich an intensiven Erlebnissen, Begegnungen, Erfahrungen- und vielleicht auch neuen Erkenntnissen über sich selbst.


Einbindung ins Jakobwegenetz von Österreich und Deutschland


Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu schließt in Stams an den deutsch-österreichischen Jakobsweg von München entlang Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache und Inn an sowie an die beiden österreichischen Jakobswege, die sich in Innsbruck vereinen: der Weg von Lofer/Salzburg nach Innsbruck sowie die Route von Lienz nach Innsbruck. Von Innsbruck führt dieser gebündelte Jakobswegstrahl weiter über Stams zum Arlberg oder eben ab Stams auf die Route Tirol-Allgäu.


Pilgerstempel und Pilgerausweis


In den Jakobskapellen und den im Text angegebenen Kirchen gibt es entlang des Jakobswegs Stempelstellen. Diese Pilgerstempel sind schöne Erinnerungen im eigenen Pilgertagebuch. Im intrnat. anerkannten Pilgerausweis dienen sie als Nachweis für die bewältigte Route. Der Pilgerausweis ermöglicht als offizielles Dokument auch die Übernachtung in speziellen Pilgerunterkünften, von denen es auf dieser Route aber noch wenig gibt. Er ist gegen eine Bearbeitungsgebühr bei den Jakobspilgergemeinschaften erhältlich.



Wegbeschreibung:

Von der Jakobskapelle rechtshaltend durch Wiesen zur Pfarrkirche St. Wendelin in Grän (1138 m), eingeweiht 1793 zur Verehrung des Hirten- und Viehpatrons Wendelin. Auf kapellen- und bildstockreichem Sträßchen weiter nach Innergschwend mit der St. Martinskapelle (erwähnt 1494) und nach Berg mit der prächtig stuckierten Sebastianskapelle (1653). Ein Besuch von Tannheim ist wegen der barocken St. Nikolaus-Kirche, der zweitgrößten Landpfarrkirche der Diözese Innsbruck, und wegen des schmucken Dorfes ein Muss. Sankt Nikolaus überrascht mit imposanten Altären und Deckenfresken sowie durch das wertvolle, über 450 Jahre alte vollständige Geläut der berühmten Innsbrucker Glockengießerei Löffler. Hin- und Rückweg am besten von Berg auf ruhigem Sträßchen zur Unterführung beim Parkplatz am Tannheimer Ortseingang. Danach auf dem bezaubernden Panoramaweg über Untergschwend zur Pestkapelle St. Leonhard in Kienzen, nach Zöblen, Fricken und Kappl. Über die Vilsbrücke gelangt man zum Schattwalder Kaufhaus Lutz, an der Bundesstraße zum Oberjoch. Dahinter führt rechts der Passstraße ein Sträßchen Richtung Steig, Unterjoch/Krummenbach. Auf diesem linkshaltend zur Weggabelung mit Wegkreuz und Bank vor einem Hof. Den Schildern „Jakobsweg/Alte Salzstraße“ folgen und kurz steil hinauf zur Bundesstraße 308, die man überquert zum Wanderweg nach Oberjoch (1145 m), dem höchstgelegenen Ortsteil von Bad Hindelang. Die alte Grenzstation (mit   altestelle) oberhalb passierend, geht’s direkt nach Oberjoch am Jochpass. Unterwegs befindet sich an einem Rastplatz ein großer Gedenkstein, der an die Römerstraße (wissenschaftl. widerlegt), die alte Salzstraße sowie den Jakobsweg erinnert. Unterhalb der Katholischen Pfarrkirche Heilig Geist (1968/69) steht an der Passstraße die Kapelle St. Jakob (Stempelstelle) (1732) mit Stempelstelle und schönem Deckenfresko von Pilgern am Brunnen. Der Jakobsweg führt vom Infopunkt am Joch zunächst Richtung Untere Ochsenalpe, zweigt dann rechts ab in den Wald zum Wildbachtobel, und zieht steil hinab durch die Wiesen mit herrlichem Ausblick. Auf dem Alten Jochpassweg erreicht man die ersten Häuser von Bad Oberdorf, von wo man nach Querung der Hauptstraße direkt zur Filialkirche von Bad Oberdorf, St. Jodokus, kommt. Die 1938 erbaute Kirche ist weithin bekannt durch ihre Kunstschätze, wie den Palmesel (um 1470), das Marienbild von Hans Holbein d. Ält. und den Altar von Jörg Lederer.



Tipp des Autors:

Felixé Mina's Haus, Heimatmuseum, Vilsalpsee in Tannheim. Pfarrkirche St. Wolfgang (Stempelstelle) in Schattwald. Moorbad und Gasthaus der Alpe Kematsried in Oberjoch. Obere Mühle in Bad Oberdorf.



Sicherheitshinweise:

Es ist zu beachten, dass auf Pilgerpfaden ein erhöhtes Unfall- und Verletzungsrisiko bestehen kann. Trotz umsichtiger Tourenplanung bleibt immer ein Basisrisiko bestehen. Eine Tourenvorbereitung durch Ausdauersport, entsprechendes technisches Training und mentale Vorbereitung mindert die Unfallgefahr und die Risiken. Vergessen Sie aber bitte nie, dass das Wetter in den Bergen sehr schnell umschlagen kann.



Ausrüstung:

Die persönliche Pilgerausrüstung muss sicher und gebrauchsfähig sein und dem jeweiligen technischen Standard entsprechen. Der Rucksack sollte das Gewicht mit 15 kg nicht übersteigen. Jedem Pilger wird empfohlen, sich in Fachliteratur oder im Internet ausführlich zu informieren und vorzubereiten.

Ausgangspunkt: Haldensee
Zielpunkt: Bad Oberdorf
Erreichbarkeit / Anreise

Anfahrt
Vignettenfrei auf A7 Kempten-Reutte bis Ausfahrt Oy- Mittelberg. Auf B310 nach Oberjoch und auf B308 ins Tannheimer Tal. Oder A980 bis Ausfahrt Waltenhofen und auf B19 nach Sonthofen. Weiter auf B308 über Bad Hindelang und Oberjoch. Aus Richtung Fernpass/Reutte am schnellsten auf A7 bis Ausfahrt Oy-Mittelberg, auf B310 nach Oberjoch, auf B308 ins Tannheimer Tal.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Anreise über den gut erreichbaren Bahnhof Sonthofen. Weiter per Bus über Bad Hindelang und Oberjoch ins Tannheimer Tal. Ferner Anreise im Sommer per Bahn und Bus über die Stationen der Außerfernbahn Kempten- Reutte: Ab Bahnhof Pfronten-Ried 16 km nach Grän sowie ab Bahnhof Reutte 24 km durchs Lechtal über den Gaichtpass. Busfahrpläne und Anreisetipps auf: www.vvt.at (Tirol), www.rva.de (Raum Füssen/Pfronten und Oberstdorf) sowie auf www.tannheimertal.com .

Parken
In Grän beim Gemeindehaus - kostenpflichtig

günstigste Jahreszeit:
  • Sommer
  • Herbst
Jakobsweg Etappe 5 Haldensee - Bad Hindelang
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte