St. James way Section 6 Bad Hindelang- Immenstadt/Bühl

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Starting place: 6677 Schattwald
Destination: 6952 Hittisau

Duration: 5,5 hours
Length: 21,349 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 310 m
Altitude difference (downhill): 405 m

Lowest point: 716 m
Highest point: 986 m
Difficulty: medium
Panoramic view: Dreamtour
Download GPS data

Short description:
A panoramic and culturally very interesting stage with charming hamlets and idyllic riverside paths.



Technique: ****



Quality of experience: ******



Recommended season:

  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September



Properties:

  • Round trip
  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights

Description:

The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St James


This Alpine Route of St. James, which is both scenically and culturally very attractive, leads off the main roads over three Alpine passes, namely the Fernpass, the old Gaichtpass and the Jochpass. It crosses some of the most attractive hiking and holiday regions of Tyrol and southern Upper Allgäu on ancient Roman, trade and pilgrim paths.


The pilgrims to St. James can undoubtedly look forward to a particularly impressive route here. All the more so, as it mostly leads through rural, tranquil mountain regions, where people have been deeply influenced by faith and fear of the forces of nature for centuries. These regions are therefore particularly rich in churches and chapels with numerous art-historical gems, often from very different eras. In combination with the magnificent panoramic views, the constantly changing perspectives and the meditative, but now and then strenuous hiking in wind and weather through these alpine natural landscapes, this "camino" becomes an unforgettable path that demands all the senses, rich in intense experiences, encounters, experiential and perhaps also new insights about oneself.


Integration into the Jakobwegenetz of Austria and Germany


The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St. James connects in Stams to the German-Austrian Way of St. James from Munich along the Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache and Inn rivers, as well as to the two Austrian ways of St. James which unite in Innsbruck: the route from Lofer/Salzburg to Innsbruck and the route from Lienz to Innsbruck. From Innsbruck, this bundled stream of St. James' Way leads on via Stams to the Arlberg or even from Stams on the Tyrol-Allgaeu route.


Pilgrim's stamp and pilgrim's identity card


In the chapels of St. James and in the churches mentioned in the text there are stamped places along the St. James' Way. These pilgrim's stamps are nice memories in your own pilgrim's diary. In the intrnat. recognised pilgrim's identity card they serve as proof of the route completed. As an official document, the pilgrim's identity card also enables the pilgrim to stay overnight in special pilgrim accommodation, of which there are still few on this route. It can be obtained from the St. James pilgrim associations for a processing fee.



Directions:
From St. Jodokus we go to Bad Hindelang to the Catholic Parish Church of St. John Baptist (built 1864-1867, stamped) with its numerous art treasures, including the famous triptych depicting the Corpus Christi procession. The only significant ascent on the German route leads (in the direction of "Zillenbachtobel") up to the sun-drenched hamlet of Gailenberg (989 m) with a magnificent view over the entire Ostrachtal. In the chapel of St. Silvester (built in 1623) the altarpiece is by Christian Modersohn, the son of the artist Otto Modersohn, who both lived here for several years. Today the studio of the painter Kilian Lipp is located in Gailenberg. On the quiet, chapel-rich and panoramic high-level trail, you pass Vorderhindelang, Reckenberg and Tiefenbach and descend to the bridge over the Ostrach - and into the Alpsee-Grünten holiday region. On the left bank, the trail leads via Binswangen in the direction of Sonthofen, the southernmost town in the Allgäu - ideal for a stroll along with an enjoyable lunch break. Then cross the Ostrach bridge at the Erzflöße in the north of the town and immediately after that turn left onto the path that leads through the floodplains to Ortwang, a district of Burgberg. Past the Ortwang quarry pond, keep right to get to the Illerbrücke bridge and cross it to the left towards Blaichach. Behind the bridge turn right and after the Schützenhaus you reach the Iller-Uferweg. Turn left there and follow the Illerdamm and the beautiful lakeside path, past the Inselsee with water ski lift and café, until you reach the turn-off to the centre of Immenstadt. The "Städtle" invites you to stay, especially around Marienplatz, Kirchplatz and Klosterplatz with the pink Capuchin church St. Josef. The catholic St. Nikolauskirche (stamped church) (mentioned in 1275) impresses with its baroque altars, the pulpit (1707) and a Mother of God (around 1470) from the famous Memmingen workshop of Ivo Strigel. Westwards, via the cattle market field, you reach the bathing path, which leads through the meadows past the Kleiner Alpsee, partly parallel to the railway line, to Bühl in the village centre on the shore of the Großer Alpsee - with lake stage, promenade, lido and AlpSeeHaus, the information centre of the Nagelfluhkette Nature Park with tourist information. You should allow enough time for this, the same applies to the pilgrimage church Maria Loreto (stamped) with Anna chapel, easily accessible via a steep little road from the AlpSeeHaus. The true-to-scale replica (1666) of the "Casa Santa", the Maria Loreto Chapel near Ancona (Italy), is fascinating - also due to its location with a distant view.

Tip:
Bad Hindelang: several natural pools, farmers' market. Sonthofen: Wonnemar adventure pool, Starzlachklamm gorge, various museums. Burgberg: ore mines adventure world and vital park. Blaichach: Inselsee water ski lift. Immenstadt: lakes, museums, beautiful centre.

Safety guidelines:
It should be noted that there is an increased risk of accidents and injuries on pilgrim paths. Despite careful route planning, a basic risk always remains. Tour preparation through endurance sports, appropriate technical training and mental preparation reduces the risk of accidents and injuries. But please never forget that the weather in the mountains can change very quickly.

Equipment:
The personal pilgrim's equipment must be safe and serviceable and must meet the relevant technical standards. The rucksack should not exceed the weight of 15 kg. Every pilgrim is recommended to inform and prepare himself in detail in technical literature or on the Internet.

Starting point: Bad Oberdorf
Destination: Immenstadt - Bühl
Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
Motorway A7 direction Füssen until Allgäuer Kreuz, continue on A980 direction until exit Waltenhofen. Take the B19 directly to Sonthofen, continue on the B308 to Bad Hindelang. Or on A7 to exit "Bad Hindelang-Oberjoch" near Oy- Mittelberg and on B309 via Oberjoch to Bad Hindelang (18 km).

Public Transit
The Sonthofen destination station is easily reached by train thanks to numerous direct connections. Further by bus shuttle to Hindelang (7 km) every half hour.

Parking
Public parking spaces in Bad Hindelang - subject to charges

Most economical season:
  • Summer
  • Autumn
St. James way Section 6 Bad Hindelang- Immenstadt/Bühl
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Accommodations
Arrival
Departure:

Jakobsweg Etappe 6 Bad Hindelang- Immenstadt/Bühl

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Startort: 6677 Schattwald
Zielort: 6952 Hittisau

Dauer: 5,5 Stunden
Länge: 21,349 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 310 m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 405 m

Niedrigster Punkt: 716 m
Höchster Punkt: 986 m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Panorama: Traumtour
GPS Daten downloaden

Kurzbeschreibung:

Eine panoramareiche und kulturell sehr interessante Etappe mit reizenden Weilern und idyllischen Uferwegen.



Technik: ****



Erlebniswert: ******



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September



Eigenschaften:

  • Streckentour
  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights

Beschreibung:

Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu


Diese sowohl landschaftlich als auch kulturell sehr attraktive alpine Jakobsweg-Route führt abseits der großen Straßen über drei Alpenpässe, nämlich über den Fernpass, den alten Gaichtpass und den Jochpass. Dabei durchquert sie einige der attraktivsten Wander- und Urlaubsgebiete Tirols und des südlichen Oberallgäus auf uralten Römer-, Handels- und Pilgerwegen.


Die Jakobs-Pilger dürfen sich hier zweifellos auf eine besonders beeindruckende Route freuen. Umso mehr, da diese meist durch ländlich-beschauliche Bergregionen führt, in denen die Menschen jahrhundertelang vom Glauben und der Furcht vor den Naturgewalten tief geprägt wurden. Daher sind diese Regionen besonder reich an Kirchen und Kapellen mit zahlreichen kunsthistorischen Kleinoden, oft aus ganz verschiedenen Epochen. In Verbindung mit den großartigen Panoramablicken, den ständig wechselnden Perspektiven und dem meditativen, hin und wieder doch anstrengenden Wandern bei Wind und Wetter durch diese alpinen Naturlandschaften wird dieser "camino" zu einem alle Sinne beanspruchenden, unvergesslichen Weg, reich an intensiven Erlebnissen, Begegnungen, Erfahrungen- und vielleicht auch neuen Erkenntnissen über sich selbst.


Einbindung ins Jakobwegenetz von Österreich und Deutschland


Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu schließt in Stams an den deutsch-österreichischen Jakobsweg von München entlang Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache und Inn an sowie an die beiden österreichischen Jakobswege, die sich in Innsbruck vereinen: der Weg von Lofer/Salzburg nach Innsbruck sowie die Route von Lienz nach Innsbruck. Von Innsbruck führt dieser gebündelte Jakobswegstrahl weiter über Stams zum Arlberg oder eben ab Stams auf die Route Tirol-Allgäu.


Pilgerstempel und Pilgerausweis


In den Jakobskapellen und den im Text angegebenen Kirchen gibt es entlang des Jakobswegs Stempelstellen. Diese Pilgerstempel sind schöne Erinnerungen im eigenen Pilgertagebuch. Im intrnat. anerkannten Pilgerausweis dienen sie als Nachweis für die bewältigte Route. Der Pilgerausweis ermöglicht als offizielles Dokument auch die Übernachtung in speziellen Pilgerunterkünften, von denen es auf dieser Route aber noch wenig gibt. Er ist gegen eine Bearbeitungsgebühr bei den Jakobspilgergemeinschaften erhältlich.



Wegbeschreibung:

Von St. Jodokus geht‘s nach Bad Hindelang zur Katholischen Pfarrkirche St. Johannes Baptist (Stempelstelle) (erbaut 1864–1867, Stempelstelle) mit zahlreichen Kunstschätzen, darunter das berühmte Tryptichon mit Darstellung der Fronleichnamsprozession. Der einzige nennenswerte Anstieg auf der deutschen Route führt (Richtung „Zillenbachtobel“) hinauf zum sonnenverwöhnten Weiler Gailenberg (989 m) mit großartigem Blick übers gesamte Ostrachtal. In der Kapelle St. Silvester (erbaut 1623) stammt das Altarbild von Christian Modersohn, dem Sohn des Künstlers Otto Modersohn, die beide mehrere Jahre hier lebten. Heute befindet sich in Gailenberg das Atelier des Kunstmalers Kilian Lipp. Auf dem stillen, kapellen- und panoramareichen Höhenweg gelangt man über Vorderhindelang, Reckenberg und Tiefenbach hinab zur Brücke über die Ostrach – und in die Ferienregion Alpsee-Grünten. Auf der linken Uferseite geht’s über Binswangen Richtung Sonthofen, der südlichsten Stadt im Allgäu – ideal für einen Bummel samt genussreicher Mittagsrast. Danach überquert man die Ostrachbrücke bei der Erzflöße im Norden der Stadt und zweigt dahinter sofort links ab auf den Weg, der durch die Auen nach Ortwang führt, einem Ortsteil von Burgberg. Vorbei am Ortwanger Baggersee gelangt man rechtshaltend zur Illerbrücke und überquert diese nach links Richtung Blaichach. Hinter der Brücke biegt man rechts ab und erreicht nach dem Schützenhaus den Iller-Uferweg. Dort nach links wandernd, reicht man den Illerdamm und folgt dem schönen Uferweg, vorbei am Inselsee mit Wasserskilift und Café, bis zur Abzweigung ins Zentrum von Immenstadt. Das „Städtle“ lädt zum Verweilen ein, vor allem rund um Marienplatz, Kirchplatz und Klosterplatz mit der rosafarbenen Kapuzinerkirche St. Josef. Die Katholische St. Nikolauskirche (Stempelstelle) (1275 erwähnt) beeindruckt durch ihre Barockaltäre, die Kanzel (1707) sowie eine Mutter Gottes (um 1470) aus der berühmten Memminger Werkstatt von Ivo Strigel. Westwärts gelangt man übers Viehmarktfeld zum Badeweg, der durch die Wiesen am Kleinen Alpsee vorbei, teils parallel zur Eisenbahnlinie, nach Bühl ins Dorfzentrum am Ufer des Großen Alpsees führt - mit Seebühne, Promenade, Strandbad und AlpSeeHaus, dem Informationszentrum des Naturparks Nagelfluhkette mit Touristen-Information. Hierfür sollte man genügend Zeit einplanen, dasselbe gilt für die Wallfahrtskirche Maria Loreto (Stempelstelle) mit Anna-Kapelle, leicht erreichbar über ein steiles Sträßchen ab dem AlpSeeHaus. Der maßstabsgetreue Nachbau (1666) der „Casa Santa“, der Maria Loreto Kapelle bei Ancona (Italien), ist faszinierend – auch durch die Lage mit Fernblick.



Tipp des Autors:

Bad Hindelang: mehrere Naturbäder, Bauernmarkt. Sonthofen: Erlebnisbad Wonnemar, Starzlachklamm, div. Museen. Burgberg: Erzgruben Erlebniswelt und Vital Park. Blaichach: Wasserskilift Inselsee. Immenstadt: Seen, Museen, schönes Zentrum.



Sicherheitshinweise:

Es ist zu beachten, dass auf Pilgerpfaden ein erhöhtes Unfall- und Verletzungsrisiko bestehen kann. Trotz umsichtiger Tourenplanung bleibt immer ein Basisrisiko bestehen. Eine Tourenvorbereitung durch Ausdauersport, entsprechendes technisches Training und mentale Vorbereitung mindert die Unfallgefahr und die Risiken. Vergessen Sie aber bitte nie, dass das Wetter in den Bergen sehr schnell umschlagen kann.



Ausrüstung:

Die persönliche Pilgerausrüstung muss sicher und gebrauchsfähig sein und dem jeweiligen technischen Standard entsprechen. Der Rucksack sollte das Gewicht mit 15 kg nicht übersteigen. Jedem Pilger wird empfohlen, sich in Fachliteratur oder im Internet ausführlich zu informieren und vorzubereiten.

Ausgangspunkt: Bad Oberdorf
Zielpunkt: Immenstadt - Bühl
Erreichbarkeit / Anreise

Anfahrt
Autobahn A7 Richtung Füssen bis zum Allgäuer Kreuz, weiter auf A980 Richtung bis Ausfahrt Waltenhofen. Auf B19 direkt nach Sonthofen, weiter auf B308 nach Bad Hindelang. Oder auf A7 bis zur Ausfahrt „Bad Hindelang-Oberjoch“ bei Oy- Mittelberg und auf B309 über Oberjoch nach Bad Hindelang (18 km).

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Der Zielbahnhof Sonthofen ist durch zahlreiche Direktverbindungen sehr gut per Bahn erreichbar. Weiter per Busshuttle nach Hindelang (7 km) im Halb- Stunden-Takt.

Parken
Öffentliche Parkplätze in Bad Hindelang - kostenpflichtig

günstigste Jahreszeit:
  • Sommer
  • Herbst
Jakobsweg Etappe 6 Bad Hindelang- Immenstadt/Bühl
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte