Tyrol-Allgäu way of St. James

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Starting place: 6422 Stams
Destination: 6934 Sulzberg

Duration: 36,31 hours
Length: 133,762 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 2628 m
Altitude difference (downhill): 2477 m

Lowest point: 640 m
Highest point: 1350 m
Difficulty: medium
Panoramic view: Dreamtour
Download GPS data

Short description:

The Tyrol-Allgäu Way of St James


This Alpine Route of St. James, which is both scenically and culturally very attractive, leads off the main roads over three Alpine passes, namely the Fernpass, the old Gaichtpass and the Jochpass. It crosses some of the most attractive hiking and holiday regions of Tyrol and southern Upper Allgäu on ancient Roman, trade and pilgrim paths.



Technique: *



Quality of experience: ******



Recommended season:

  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September



Properties:

  • Round trip
  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights

Description:

The Tyrol-Allgäu Way of St James


This Alpine Route of St. James, which is both scenically and culturally very attractive, leads off the main roads over three Alpine passes, namely the Fernpass, the old Gaichtpass and the Jochpass. It crosses some of the most attractive hiking and holiday regions of Tyrol and southern Upper Allgäu on ancient Roman, trade and pilgrim paths.


The pilgrims to St. James can undoubtedly look forward to a particularly impressive route here. All the more so, as it mostly leads through rural, tranquil mountain regions, where people have been deeply influenced by faith and fear of the forces of nature for centuries. These regions are therefore particularly rich in churches and chapels with numerous art-historical gems, often from very different eras. In combination with the magnificent panoramic views, the constantly changing perspectives and the meditative, but now and then strenuous hiking in wind and weather through these alpine natural landscapes, this "camino" becomes an unforgettable path that demands all the senses, rich in intense experiences, encounters, experiential and perhaps also new insights about oneself.


Integration into the Jakobwegenetz of Austria and Germany


The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St. James connects in Stams to the German-Austrian Way of St. James from Munich along the Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache and Inn rivers, as well as to the two Austrian ways of St. James which unite in Innsbruck: the route from Lofer/Salzburg to Innsbruck and the route from Lienz to Innsbruck. From Innsbruck, this bundled stream of St. James' Way leads on via Stams to the Arlberg or even from Stams on the Tyrol-Allgaeu route.


Pilgrim's stamp and pilgrim's identity card


In the chapels of St. James and in the churches mentioned in the text there are stamped places along the St. James' Way. These pilgrim's stamps are nice memories in your own pilgrim's diary. In the intrnat. recognised pilgrim's identity card they serve as proof of the route completed. As an official document, the pilgrim's identity card also enables the pilgrim to stay overnight in special pilgrim accommodation, of which there are still few on this route. It can be obtained from the St. James pilgrim associations for a processing fee.


 



Directions:

Although the Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St James is divided into daily stages here, each pilgrim should put together his own individual route. One stage may be longer, the other shorter, depending on your wishes, fitness and cultural or tourist interests on the way. Adventurous pilgrims set off and simply spend the night where they arrive in the late afternoon, at the risk of not being able to get a cheap room for one night, but having to pay more in a hotel. Others plan their own route including overnight stays already at home. Those who, for example, want to visit the basilica and monastery in Stams as well as the pilgrimage place Maria Locherboden high above Mötz in peace and quiet should arrive in time the day before. Or plan an overnight stay in Obsteig or Holzleiten. Also at the end of the route in Oberstaufen-Zell it would be worthwhile to add another day. Then you could hike from Oberstaufen- Zell to Oberstaufen, get on the bus to the Hochgratbahn at the station and drive up to the top station in the late afternoon. Only a few metres below is the Staufner Haus, an alpine club hut in a splendid panoramic location with good food and cheap accommodation. The next day you could hike directly from the hut over the Nagelfluh mountain range with views as far as Lake Constance, the next destination on the long way to Spain, before taking the bus from Steibis to the train station in Oberstaufen for the journey home. Information: www.bahn.de, www.oberstaufen.de


The pilgrims to St. James can undoubtedly look forward to a particularly impressive route here. All the more so as it mostly leads through rural, tranquil mountain regions where people have been deeply influenced by faith and fear of the forces of nature for centuries. These regions are therefore particularly rich in churches and chapels with numerous art-historical gems, often from very different eras. In connection with the magnificent panoramic views, the constantly changing perspectives and the meditative, now and then strenuous hiking in wind and weather through these alpine natural landscapes, this "camino" becomes an unforgettable path that demands all the senses, rich in intense experiences, encounters, sensations - and perhaps also new insights about oneself. The Tyrol-Allgaeu Way of St. James connects in Stams to the German-Austrian Way of St. James from Munich along the Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache and Inn rivers, as well as to the two Austrian ways of St. James which unite in Innsbruck: the route from Lofer/ Salzburg to Innsbruck and the route from Lienz to Innsbruck. From Innsbruck, this bundled Tyrolean St. James' Way continues via Stams to the Arlberg or even from Stams on the Tyrol-Allgaeu route. Pilgrim's stamp and pilgrim's identity card There are stamp sites along the Way of St. James in the chapels of St. James and the churches mentioned in the text. These pilgrim's stamps are nice memories in your own pilgrim's diary. In the internationally recognised pilgrim's identity card they serve as proof of the completed route. As an official document, the pilgrim's identity card also enables the pilgrim to stay overnight in special pilgrim accommodation, of which there are still few on this route. It can be obtained from the St. James pilgrims' associations for a processing fee.


 



Tip:
The walking times given (without breaks) are generously calculated and serve as a guideline. Group size, culture and photo stops etc. influence the time required.

Safety guidelines:
It should be noted that there is an increased risk of accidents and injuries on pilgrim paths. Despite careful route planning, a basic risk always remains. Tour preparation through endurance sports, appropriate technical training and mental preparation reduces the risk of accidents and injuries. But please never forget that the weather in the mountains can change very quickly.

Equipment:

The personal pilgrim's equipment must be safe and serviceable and must meet the relevant technical standards. The rucksack should not exceed the weight of 15 kg. Every pilgrim is recommended to inform and prepare himself in detail in technical literature or on the Internet.


Note for cyclists and wheelchair users


This route is not suitable for wheelchair users. Mountain bikers and cyclists with robust touring bikes, appropriate fitness and equipment will be delighted with this route. Exception: the first stage from Mötz through the gorge to the Mieminger Plateau must be avoided - preferably on the little used direct road from Mötz to Finsterfiecht/Obsteig, west of the Route of St. James. The old long-distance pass route is technically difficult in the upper section, especially when wet (push route). For the descent from Oberjoch to Bad Oberdorf/Bad Hindelang it is best to use the pass road from the chapel of St. James. The lakeside path along the Großer Alpsee near Immenstadt-Bühl is closed to cyclists. Parallel to the hiking trail, the cycle path leads along a quiet little road behind the railway tracks.


 



Additional information:
Tourism information Tannheimer Tal

Starting point: Stams in the Inn Valley
Destination: Stams in the Inn Valley
Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
Either via Innsbruck on the toll Inntal motorway towards Imst to Stams or via Reutte and the Fernpass to Nassereithb or via Obsteig/Miemiger sonnenplateau to Stams. From Munich via Seefeld/Tyrol to Telfs and on the Inntal motorway towards Haiming/Imst to Stams

Public Transit
Take the train to Innsbruck and continue with the regional express in the direction of Zams to Stams. Or via Lindau Bregenz, Feldkirch to Landeck-Zams and further with S2 direction Wattens to Stams. It is possible to take your bike with you, cheap bike ticket for Tyrol. Regional timetable under www.vvt.at 

Parking
Public parking spaces in Stams partly with costs

Most economical season:
  • Summer
  • Autumn
Tyrol-Allgäu way of St. James
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Accommodations
Arrival
Departure:

Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Startort: 6422 Stams
Zielort: 6934 Sulzberg

Dauer: 41,28 Stunden
Länge: 133,79 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 2445 m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 2276 m

niedrigster Punkt: 640 m
höchster Punkt: 1350 m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Panorama: Traumtour
GPS Daten downloaden

Kurzbeschreibung:

Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu


Diese sowohl landschaftlich als auch kulturell sehr attraktive alpine Jakobsweg-Route führt abseits der großen Straßen über drei Alpenpässe, nämlich über den Fernpass, den alten Gaichtpass und den Jochpass. Dabei durchquert sie einige der attraktivsten Wander- und Urlaubsgebiete Tirols und des südlichen Oberallgäus auf uralten Römer-, Handels- und Pilgerwegen.


 



Technik: *



Erlebniswert: ******



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September



Eigenschaften:

  • Streckentour
  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights

Beschreibung:

Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu


Diese sowohl landschaftlich als auch kulturell sehr attraktive alpine Jakobsweg-Route führt abseits der großen Straßen über drei Alpenpässe, nämlich über den Fernpass, den alten Gaichtpass und den Jochpass. Dabei durchquert sie einige der attraktivsten Wander- und Urlaubsgebiete Tirols und des südlichen Oberallgäus auf uralten Römer-, Handels- und Pilgerwegen.


Die Jakobs-Pilger dürfen sich hier zweifellos auf eine besonders beeindruckende Route freuen. Umso mehr, da diese meist durch ländlich-beschauliche Bergregionen führt, in denen die Menschen jahrhundertelang vom Glauben und der Furcht vor den Naturgewalten tief geprägt wurden. Daher sind diese Regionen besonder reich an Kirchen und Kapellen mit zahlreichen kunsthistorischen Kleinoden, oft aus ganz verschiedenen Epochen. In Verbindung mit den großartigen Panoramablicken, den ständig wechselnden Perspektiven und dem meditativen, hin und wieder doch anstrengenden Wandern bei Wind und Wetter durch diese alpinen Naturlandschaften wird dieser "camino" zu einem alle Sinne beanspruchenden, unvergesslichen Weg, reich an intensiven Erlebnissen, Begegnungen, Erfahrungen- und vielleicht auch neuen Erkenntnissen über sich selbst.


Einbindung ins Jakobwegenetz von Österreich und Deutschland


Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu schließt in Stams an den deutsch-österreichischen Jakobsweg von München entlang Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache und Inn an sowie an die beiden österreichischen Jakobswege, die sich in Innsbruck vereinen: der Weg von Lofer/Salzburg nach Innsbruck sowie die Route von Lienz nach Innsbruck. Von Innsbruck führt dieser gebündelte Jakobswegstrahl weiter über Stams zum Arlberg oder eben ab Stams auf die Route Tirol-Allgäu.


Pilgerstempel und Pilgerausweis


In den Jakobskapellen und den im Text angegebenen Kirchen gibt es entlang des Jakobswegs Stempelstellen. Diese Pilgerstempel sind schöne Erinnerungen im eigenen Pilgertagebuch. Im intrnat. anerkannten Pilgerausweis dienen sie als Nachweis für die bewältigte Route. Der Pilgerausweis ermöglicht als offizielles Dokument auch die Übernachtung in speziellen Pilgerunterkünften, von denen es auf dieser Route aber noch wenig gibt. Er ist gegen eine Bearbeitungsgebühr bei den Jakobspilgergemeinschaften erhältlich.



Wegbeschreibung:

Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu ist hier zwar in Tagesetappen eingeteilt, jeder Pilger sollte aber seinen individuellen Weg zusammenstellen. Die eine Etappe vielleicht länger, die andere kürzer, je nach Wunsch, Kondition und kulturellen oder touristischen Interessen unterwegs. Abenteuerlustige Pilger machen sich auf den Weg und übernachten unterwegs einfach dort, wo sie am späten Nachmittag ankommen, auch auf die Gefahr hin, dass sie dann vielleicht kein günstiges Zimmer mehr für eine Nacht bekommen, sondern in einem Hotel mehr bezahlen müssen. Andere planen ihre eigene Route samt Übernachtungen bereits daheim. Wer beispielsweise in Stams sowohl Basilika und Stift als auch den Wallfahrtsort Maria Locherboden hoch über Mötz in aller Ruhe aufsuchen will, der sollte rechtzeitig am Tag zuvor anreisen. Oder plant eine Übernachtung in Obsteig oder Holzleiten ein. Auch am Ende der Route in Oberstaufen-Zell wäre es lohnend, noch einen Tag anzuhängen. Dann könnte man von Oberstaufen- Zell nach Oberstaufen wandern, am Bahnhof in den Bus zur Hochgratbahn steigen und am späten Nachmittag hinauffahren zur Bergstation. Nur wenige Meter darunter befindet sich das Staufner Haus, eine Alpenvereinshütte in prächtiger Aussichtslage mit guter Küche und günstiger Übernachtungsmöglichkeit. Tags darauf könnte man direkt ab Hütte über die Nagelfluhkette wandern mit Blick bis zum Bodensee, dem nächsten Ziel auf dem langen Weg nach Spanien, bevor man mit dem Bus von Steibis zum Bahnhof nach Oberstaufen fährt für die Heimreise. Infos: www.bahn.de, www.oberstaufen.de


Die Jakobs-Pilger dürfen sich hier zweifellos auf eine besonders beeindruckende Route freuen. Umso mehr, da diese meist durch ländlich-beschauliche Bergregionen führt, in denen die Menschen jahrhundertelang vom Glauben und der Furcht vor den Naturgewalten tief geprägt wurden. Daher sind diese Regionen besonders reich an Kirchen und Kapellen mit zahlreichen kunsthistorischen Kleinoden, oft aus ganz verschiedenen Epochen. In Verbindung mit den großartigen Panoramablicken, den ständig wechselnden Perspektiven und dem   Meditativen, hin und wieder doch anstrengenden Wandern bei Wind und Wetter durch diese alpinen Naturlandschaften wird dieser „camino“ zu einem alle Sinne beanspruchenden, unvergesslichen Weg, reich an intensiven Erlebnissen, Begegnungen, Erfahrungen – und vielleicht auch neuen Erkenntnissen über sich selbst. Einbindung ins Jakobswegenetz von Österreich und Deutschland Der Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu schließt in Stams an den deutschösterreichischen Jakobsweg von München entlang Isar, Loisach, Leutascher Ache und Inn an sowie an die beiden österreichischen Jakobswege, die sich in Innsbruck vereinen: der Weg von Lofer/ Salzburg nach Innsbruck sowie die Route von Lienz nach Innsbruck. Von Innsbruck führt dieser gebündelte Tiroler Jakobswegstrahl weiter über Stams zum Arlberg oder eben ab Stams auf die Route Tirol-Allgäu. Pilgerstempel und Pilgerausweis In den Jakobskapellen und den im Text angegebenen Kirchen gibt es entlang des Jakobswegs Stempelstellen. Diese Pilgerstempel sind schöne Erinnerungen im eigenen Pilgertagebuch. Im internat. anerkannten Pilgerausweis dienen sie als Nachweis für die bewältigte Route. Der Pilgerausweis ermöglicht als offizielles Dokument auch die Übernachtung in speziellen  Pilgerunterkünften, von denen es auf dieser Route aber noch wenig gibt. Er ist gegen eine Bearbeitungsgebühr bei den Jakobspilgergemeinschaften erhältlich.



Tipp des Autors:

Die angegebenen Gehzeiten (ohne Pausen) sind großzügig berechnet und dienen als Richtwert. Gruppengröße, Kultur- und Fotostopps etc. beeinflussen die benötigte Zeit.



Sicherheitshinweise:

Es ist zu beachten, dass auf Pilgerpfaden ein erhöhtes Unfall- und Verletzungsrisiko bestehen kann. Trotz umsichtiger Tourenplanung bleibt immer ein Basisrisiko bestehen. Eine Tourenvorbereitung durch Ausdauersport, entsprechendes technisches Training und mentale Vorbereitung mindert die Unfallgefahr und die Risiken. Vergessen Sie aber bitte nie, dass das Wetter in den Bergen sehr schnell umschlagen kann.



Ausrüstung:

Die persönliche Pilgerausrüstung muss sicher und gebrauchsfähig sein und dem jeweiligen technischen Standard entsprechen. Der Rucksack sollte das Gewicht mit 15 kg nicht übersteigen. Jedem Pilger wird empfohlen, sich in Fachliteratur oder im Internet ausführlich zu informieren und vorzubereiten.


Hinweis für Rad- und Rollstuhlfahrer


Für Rollstuhlfahrer ist diese Jakobsweg-Route nicht geeignet. Mountainbiker und Radfahrer mit robustem Tourenrad, entsprechender Kondition und Ausrüstung werden von dieser Route begeistert sein. Ausnahme: Die erste Etappe von Mötz durch die Schlucht aufs Mieminger Plateau muss umfahren werden – am besten auf dem wenig befahrenen direkten Sträßchen von Mötz nach Finsterfiecht/Obsteig, westlich der Jakobsweg- Route. Der alte Fernpassweg ist im oberen Abschnitt technisch schwierig, vor allem bei Nässe (Schiebestrecke). Für die Abfahrt von Oberjoch nach Bad Oberdorf/Bad Hindelang nutzt man am besten ab der Kapelle St. Jakob die Passstraße. Gesperrt für Radfahrer ist der Seeuferweg am Großen Alpsee bei Immenstadt- Bühl. Parallel zum Wanderweg führt der Radweg dort auf einem ruhigen Sträßchen hinter den Bahngleisen entlang.



Weitere Infos und Links:

Tourismusinformation Tannheimer Tal

Ausgangspunkt: Stams im Inntal
Zielpunkt: Oberstaufen Zell
Erreichbarkeit/Anreise

Anfahrt
Entweder über Innsbruck auf der mautpflichtigen Inntalautobahn Richtung Imst nach Stams oder über Reutte und den Fernpass nach Nassereithbzw. über Obsteig/Miemiger sonnenplateau nach Stams. aus Münschen über Seefeld/Tirol nach Telfs und auf der Inntalautobahn Richtung Haiming/Imst nach Stams

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Per Bahn nach Innsbruck und weiter mit dem Regionalexpress Richtung Zams bis nach Stams. Oder über Lindau Bregenz, Feldkirch nach Landeck-Zams und weiter mit S2 Richtung Wattens bis Stams. Mitnahme von Bike gut möglich, günstige Fahrradkarte für Tirol. Regionaler Fahrplan unter www.vvt.at 

Parken
Öffentliche Parkplätze in Stams tlw. kostenpflichtig

günstigste Jahreszeit:
  • Sommer
  • Herbst
Jakobsweg Tirol-Allgäu
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte