Classic 24 hour hike

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details


Duration: 24 hours
Length: 39,602 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 2727 m
Altitude difference (downhill): 3373 m

Lowest point: 1077 m
Highest point: 1986 m
Difficulty: difficult
Panoramic view: Dreamtour
Download GPS data

Short description:
Joy, sweat and pain - ingredients of a successful hike



Technique: *****



Quality of experience: ******



Recommended season:

  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October



Properties:

  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights
  • Insider tip
  • Summit route

Description:
There are several dates for the "Classic 24 hours hike" in the Tannheimer Tal. Friday afternoon is meeting point at the building of the tourist information in Tannheim/Tyrol. The guides will make a presence check, hand out drinks, fruit and bars. To the astonishment of all participants, rockfall helmets will be distributed. Rain jackets, rucksacks and headlamps can also be borrowed.

Directions:
The bus, which takes the participants to the cable car in Grän, arrives according to plan. The group gets on board - each one with his or her personal ideas of this hike. In the best way organized everyone gets a mountain map of the Füssener Jöchle Bahn in Grän. At the top station the "front guide" briefly explains the schedule for the coming day and asks his colleague to act as "back guide". The route goes over the Raintaler Joch in the direction of the Füssener Hütte. In between, information about the further way. Before entering the Nesselwängler Scharte there is a short rest. The path is moderately steep, first through forest, later through mountain pines and further up only grass-covered rocks. Now we are asked to put on our helmets. "There is a short climbing passage and you have to expect falling rocks", so the words of the guide. Rope protections on the rocks help us to overcome the most difficult parts. This way we reach the Nesselwängler Scharte. The way down is then easier again and around 18.00 hrs there is dinner in the Gimpelhaus. Strengthened, equipped with a packed lunch, we pass the Tannheimer Hütte into the night. A group of people with headlamps continues, like a row of fireflies, to the Hahnenkamm. Deer roar, cow bells ring, but otherwise it is quite quiet. Some are talking, but everyone is concentrating on the path. Once again the helmet may be put on. Climbing passage, well secured, up to the Gaichtspitze. Shortly before midnight we stand at the summit cross. The atmosphere is still very good. Now the long descent down to Gaicht follows. Nearly 900 meters of altitude downhill in one piece. Below there is a longer rest again. The guide conjures drinks, bars and fruit from his small camp. We can hand in our helmets now. Since it is already relatively cool, we decide to go on. On the Dillinger Weg we go into the Birkental. It's a pity that it's dark now, because this valley also has a lot to offer optically. After a short rest at the 'Höflishütte' we continue our way. The path is slightly ascending and easy to walk on. The guides try to keep the mood good. At the end of the birch valley it gets a little steeper. The day begins to dawn and the silhouette of the mountain ranges slowly emerges in the night sky. On the Lachenjoch you can admire the sunrise. As it is still relatively cool, the descent for breakfast in the Landsberger Hütte is immediate. Strengthened we start the last part of the tour. Warm sunshine accompanies us up to the Kastenjoch. The path is beautiful with a slight uphill and downhill section, with a view of the Alplsee, to the Kirchendachsattel. Arrived on the saddle we see the Schrecksee. After a rest, the trail continues along the flank of the Knappenkopf and the Kugelhorn towards the Rauhorn. Over the Schafwanne we reach the opposite side of the saddle and then below the Rauhorn. Continue towards the Geißhorn and descend to the Vilsalpsee. The legs are already heavy, but the end of the hike makes the path to the beginning of the lake seem easy. With the Alpenexpress, a bell train on wheels, we drive back to Tannheim to the starting point and can be proud of what we have experienced.

Tip:
This hike is only recommended. Anyone who meets the requirements of Mammut Alpineschool will certainly enjoy the tour.Fitness and sure-footedness should be present, but the guides are very competent and make a pleasant pace.Impressions from the participants: He says: "Watch out, the path is wet". They: "What little things you pay attention to".A young couple. She says to him: "Shall I tie my shoes tighter?", he replies: "You have to know how tight you want your shoes to be. Then she again: "They are already too tight".It is midnight and we are standing at the top of the Gaichtspitze. A woman notices that the view up here is just great.One even says that the silence is audible.Only good that the guides know the route and don't go after the "Navi". (For insiders: There is also a Tannheim near Memmingen).

Safety guidelines:

General valid and usual rules of conduct!


Please note that there is an increased risk of accidents and injuries in mountain sports. Despite careful route planning, a basic risk always remains. Tour preparation through endurance sports, appropriate technical training and further education as well as personal prudence reduces the risk of accidents and injuries. But please never forget that the weather in the mountains can change very quickly. Stay on the marked hiking trails.



Equipment:
Personal mountaineering equipment must be safe and serviceable and must meet the relevant technical standards. Every hiker is recommended to obtain information about the planned tours from alpine technical literature or on site.

Additional information:
Tourism Tannheimer Tal

Starting point: Tannheim, tourism building
Destination: Tannheim, tourism building
Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
On the motorway A7 at the exit "Oy-Mittelberg" on the B310 towards Wertach and to Oberjoch. There follow the signposting "Tannheimer Tal" B199, exit Tannheim, Neunerköpfle mountain railway.From the Tyrolean side via Reutte on the B198 towards Lechtal to Weißenbach, over the Gaichtpass along the B199 to the exit Tannheim, Neunerköpfle Bergbahn.

Public Transit
By train to Sonthofen, Pfronten/Ried or Reutte, then by bus to Tannheim.

Parking
At the valley station of the Neunerköpfle cable car - with costs

Most economical season:
  • Summer
  • Autumn
Classic 24 hour hike
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Accommodations
Arrival
Departure:

Klassische 24 Stunden Wanderung

Tannheim, Tirol, Österreich

Tour-Details

Startort: 6673 Grän
Zielort: 6675 Tannheim

Dauer: 24 Stunden
Länge: 39,602 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 2727 m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 3373 m

Niedrigster Punkt: 1077 m
Höchster Punkt: 1986 m
Schwierigkeit: schwer
Panorama: Traumtour
GPS Daten downloaden

Kurzbeschreibung:

Freude, Schweiß und Schmerzen - Zutaten einer gelungenen Wanderung.



Technik: *****



Erlebniswert: ******



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober



Eigenschaften:

  • Streckentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights
  • Geheimtipp
  • Gipfel-Tour

Beschreibung:

Es gibt mehrere Termine für die "Klassische 24 Stunden Wanderung" im Tannheimer Tal. Freitag Nachmittag ist Treffpunkt beim Gebäude der Tourismusinformation in Tannheim/Tirol. Die Guides machen eine Anwesenheitskontrolle, geben Getränke, Obst und Riegel aus. Zur Verwunderung aller Teilnehmer werden Steinschlaghelme verteilt. Auch Regenjacken, Rucksäcke und Stirnlampen sind leihweise zu bekommen.



Wegbeschreibung:

Der Bus, der die Teilnehmer nach Grän zur Seilbahn bringt, fährt planmäßig vor. Die Gruppe steigt ein - ein jeder mit seinen persönlichen Vorstellungen dieser Wanderung. Bestens organisiert bekommt jeder eine Bergfahrtkarte der Füssener Jöchle Bahn in Grän. An der Bergstation erklärt der "Frontguide" kurz den zeitlichen Ablauf des kommenden Tages und bittet seinen Kollegen als "Backguide" zu fungieren. Es geht über das Raintaler Joch Richtung Füssener Hütte. Zwischendurch nochmals Information des weiteren Weges. Vor dem Einstieg in die Nesselwängler Scharte gibt es eine kurze Rast. Mäßig steil zieht sich der Weg nach oben, zuerst durch Wald, später durch Latschen und weiter oben nur noch grasbewachsene Felsen. Jetzt werden wir gebeten die Helme aufzusetzen. "Es kommt eine kurze Kletterpassage und es muss mit Steinschlag gerechnet werden", so die Worte des Guide. Seilsicherungen an den Felsen helfen uns, die schwierigsten Stellen zu überwinden. So gelangen wir auf die Nesselwängler Scharte. Der Weg abwärts ist dann wieder einfacher und gegen 18.00 Uhr ist Abendessen im Gimpelhaus. Gestärkt, mit einem Lunchpaket ausgestattet, geht es vorbei an der Tannheimer Hütte in die Nacht. Eine Gruppe Menschen mit Stirnlampen zieht, gleich einer Reihe Glüchwürmchen, weiter bis zum Hahnenkamm. Hirsche röhren, Kuhglocken läuten, aber ansonsten ist es recht ruhig. Einige unterhalten sich, aber jeder konzentriert sich auf den Weg. Nochmals darf der Helm augesetzt werden. Kletterpassage, gut gesichert, hinauf auf die Gaichtspitze. Kurz vor Mitternacht stehen wir am Gipfelkreuz. Stimmung immer noch sehr gut. Jetzt folgt der lange Abstieg hinunter nach Gaicht. Fast 900 Höhenmeter am Stück bergab. Unten gibt es wieder eine längere Rast. Getränke, Riegel und Obst zaubert der Guide aus seinem kleinem Lager. Die Helme können wir jetzt abgeben. Da es doch schon relativ kühl ist, beschließen wir weiter zu gehen. Auf dem Dillinger Weg geht es ins Birkental. Schade dass es jetzt dunkel ist, denn dieses Tal hat auch optisch einiges zu bieten. Nach einer kurzen Rast an der `Höflishütte´ gehts weiter. Der Weg ist leicht ansteigend und gut zu begehen. Die Guides versuchen die Stimmung gut zu halten. Am Ende des Birkentales wird es etwas steiler. Der Tag beginnt zu dämmern und die Silhouette der Bergketten zeichnen sich langsam am nächtliche Himmel ab. Auf dem Lachenjoch gibts den Sonnenaufgang zu bewundern. Da es immer noch relativ kühl ist, erfolgt der Abstieg zum Frühstück in der Landsberger Hütte umgehend. Gestärkt geht es auf den letzten Tourenabschnitt. Wärmender Sonnenschein begleitet uns aufs Kastenjoch. Wunderschön zieht sich der Weg mit leichtem Bergauf und Bergab, mit Blick auf den Alplsee, bis zum Kirchendachsattel. Auf dem Sattel angekommen sehen wir den Schrecksee. Nach einer Rast geht es an der Flanke des Knappenkopf und des Kugelhorn weiter Richtung Rauhorn. Über die Schafwanne gelangen wir auf die gegenüberliegende Sattelseite und in weiterer Folge unter das Rauhorn. Weiter Richtung Geißhorn und Abstieg zum Vilsalpsee. Die Beine sind schon schwer, aber das Ende der Wanderung lässt uns den Weg an den Anfang des Sees leicht erscheinen. Mit dem Alpenexpress, ein Bimmelzug auf Räder, fahren wir nach Tannheim zurück zum Ausgangspunkt und können stolz auf unser Erlebtes sein.



Tipp des Autors:

Diese Wanderung ist nur zu empfehlen.
Wer die Anforderungen von Mammut Alpineschool erfüllt, hat sicher viel Spaß an der Tour.
Kondition und Trittsicherheit sollte vorhanden sein, doch die Guides sind sehr kompetent und machen ein angenehmes Tempo.
Impressionen aus den Teilnehmern: Er sagt:"Pass auf, der Weg ist nass". Sie:" Auf was für Kleinigkeiten du achtest".
Ein junges Paar. Sie sagt zu Ihm:"Soll ich mir die Schuhe fester binden?", darauf er:"Das musst du wissen, wie fest du die Schuhe willst". Dann wieder Sie:" Die sind eh schon zu fest".
Es ist Mitternacht und wir stehen am Gipfel der Gaichtspitze. Eine Frau stellt fest, dass die Aussicht hier oben einfach toll ist.
Einer meinte sogar, dass die Stille hörbar ist.
Nur gut dass die Guides die Strecke kennen und nicht nach dem "Navi" gehen. (Für Insider: Es gibt auch ein Tannheim bei Memmingen).



Sicherheitshinweise:

Allgemeine gültige und übliche Verhaltensregeln!
Es ist zu beachten, dass im Bergsport ein erhöhtes Unfall- und Verletzungsrisiko bestehen kann. Trotz umsichtiger Tourenplanung bleibt immer ein Basisrisiko bestehen. Eine Tourenvorbereitung durch Ausdauersport, entsprechendes technisches Training und Fortbildung sowie persönliche Umsichtigkeit mindert die Unfallgefahr und die Risiken. Vergessen Sie aber bitte nie, dass das Wetter in den Bergen sehr schnell umschlagen kann. Bleiben Sie auf den markierten Wanderwegen.



Ausrüstung:

Die persönliche Bergsportausrüstung muss sicher und gebrauchsfähig sein und dem jeweiligen technischen Standard entsprechen. Jedem Wanderer wird empfohlen, sich in alpiner Fachliteratur oder vor Ort über die geplanten Touren zu informieren.



Weitere Infos und Links:

Tourismusverband Tannheimer Tal,

Ausgangspunkt: Tannheim, Tourismusgebäude
Zielpunkt: Tannheim, Tourismusgebäude
Erreichbarkeit / Anreise

Anfahrt
Auf der Autobahn A7 bei der Ausfahrt "Oy-Mittelberg" auf der B310 Richtung Wertach und nach Oberjoch. Dort der Ausschilderung "Tannheimer Tal" B199 folgen, Ausfahrt Tannheim, Neunerköpfle Bergbahn.
Von Tiroler Seite über Reutte auf die B198 Richtung Lechtal bis Weißenbach, über den Gaichtpass entlang der B199 bis Ausfahrt Tannheim, Neunerköpfle Bergbahn.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Mit dem Zug nach Sonthofen, Pfronten/Ried oder Reutte, weiter mit dem Bus nach Tannheim.

Parken
An der Talstation der Bergbahn Neunerköpfle - kostenpflichtig

günstigste Jahreszeit:
  • Sommer
  • Herbst
Klassische 24 Stunden Wanderung
Informationsbüro Tannheim
Vilsalpseestraße 1
6675 Tannheim
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte
Unterkünfte